Georgia 4-H recognizes individuals and organizations that provide exemplary support to the program and to the youth of Georgia with six unique honors. Use the tabs below to explore award descriptions and recipient records.

William H. Booth Award

The William H. Booth Award recognizes agents from each district who have outstanding career achievements as a 4-H Extension Agent and who have a strong commitment to community support. Agents are nominated by their peers, complete a portfolio, and participate in an interview process. This award is given by Georgia Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) in honor of Jackson EMC founder, William H. Booth, a community leader who was instrumental in building member-owned electric cooperatives in rural areas.

William H. Booth Award Winners

2023 Cindy Meadows
 Sheila Marchant
2021 Kevin Tatum
2020 Cheryl Poppell
2019 Brandi McGonagill
2018 Kate Whiting
2017 Stephanie Myers
2016 Cherry Hovatter
2015 Dorothea Graham
2014 Shirley Williamson
2013 Zona Medley
2012 Deron Rehberg
2011 Ann Wildes
2010 Jennifer Grogan
2009 Rebecca Thomas
2008 Melinda Miller
2007 Sandra McKinney
2006 Lynn Youngblood
2005 Jule-Lynne Macie
2004 Judy Ashley
2003 Phil Torrance
2002 Teresa Harvey
2001 Diane Sumner
2000 Kathy Baldwin
1999 Connie Page
1998 Clyde Taylor

1997 Susan Branan
1996 Sally Black
1995 Ginny Atkins
1994 Rachel Guthrie
1993 Helen Barrett
1992 Lorraine Payne
1991 Marilyn Poole
1990 Diane Moore
1989 Emma Thornton
1988 Beth Epling
1987 Mary H. White
1986 Doris Belcher
1985 Dawn Perry
1984 Barbara Carter
1983 Irene DuBose
1982 Jeanette Brooks
1981 Patt Bell
1980 Pat Barkuloo
1979 Gene Anderson

Friend of 4-H Award

The Georgia Association of Extension 4-H Youth Development Professionals has recognized individuals and organizations that demonstrate outstanding support of Georgia 4-H with the Friend of 4-H Award for the last 46 years. This award highlights exemplary contributions towards the Georgia 4-H vision and mission.

Friend of 4-H Award Winners

2023 Gary Black
Georgia Association of Educational Leaders (GAEL)
2021 Doris Belcher
2020 George Lee
2019 Don Bower
2018 The Honorable Nathan Deal
2017 Ronnie Silcox
2016 Allen Nasworthy; Beverly Sparks
2015 Gale Cutler
2014 Bo Ryles
2013 Gail Hanula; Rep. (ret.) Johnny Bulloch
2012 Wanda Barrs
2011 Mike and Karen Garrett
2010 Scott Angle
2009 Horace Hamilton
2008 Rep. Bob Smith; Jim and Renee Williams
2007 Bill Edwards
2006 Mel Garber; Robert and Maxine Burton
2005 Paul Wood

Green Jacket Award

The prestigious Green Jacket Award is given to individuals who have shown outstanding, significant, and ongoing statewide support to 4-H. Presentation of this honor is now a 15-year tradition that has become one of the highlights of State Congress.

Green Jacket Award Winners

2023 Representative Rick Jasperse
Governor Brian Kemp and First Lady Marty Kemp
2021 Senator Ellis and Aletha Black
2020 Gale Cutler
2019 Francis Abit Massey
2018 Senator Jack Hill
2017 Commissioner Gary Black
2016 Representative Tom McCall
2015 Paul Wood
2014 Representative Terry England
2013 Governor Nathan Deal
2012 Chancellor Hank Huckaby
2011 Speaker David Ralston
2010 Randy Nuckolls
2009 Commissioner Mike Beatty
2008 Governor Sonny Perdue

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award was established in 2001 to recognize individuals who have dedicated time, energy, and resources to Georgia 4-H over an extended period of time. This prestigious award is considered the highest honor that Georgia 4-H bestows and is reserved for those who exhibit continuous years of outstanding service. The award recipient is currently honored biannually at the Georgia 4-H Gala.

Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

2023 Randy Nuckolls
Diane Davies
2019 Bob and Maxine Burton
2017 Ted and Gerrye Jenkins
2015 Dr. Roger C. “Bo” Ryles
2013 Harold Darden
2010 Dr. M.K. “Curly” Cook
2007 Wayne Shackelford
2004 Dr. Tom Rodgers
2001 J. Edgar Rhodes

Ryles Rising Star Award

The Ryles Rising Star Award was established upon the retirement of former State 4-H Leader Dr. Roger C. (Bo) Ryles to recognize an outstanding 4-H staff member in the first five years of employment. These individuals make significant and outstanding contributions to the success of 4-H, either in a county program, at a 4-H center, or in the State 4-H Office.

Ryles Rising Star Award Winners

2023 Rachel Frisbie
Dr. Courtney Brown
2021 Leah Wooddall
2020 Susannah Lanier
2019 Crystal Perry
2018 Kari Mateling
2017 Lauren Nys Kuschner
2016 Kasey Bozeman
2015 Brittani Kelley Lee
2014 Kelle Ashley
2013 Allen Nasworthy
2012 Keri Hobbs
2011 Lauren Dye
2010 Sondra Fortner

National 4-H Hall of Fame